Elections Information

On behalf of the Elections Committee, here are the candidates for this year's elections. Click next to each position to see the bios for everyone running for that position. Please note that if there are multiple people running for the position, the PDF includes multiple page. There is one bio on each page. The names are listed in reverse alphabetical order, in accordance with NASSS bylaws.

President-Elect  President Elect Biography
Brian Gearity

Secretary  Secretary Bios
Lars Dzikus
Rachel Allison

DCCC Chair
[Not up for election in 2022]

Treasurer: Treasurer Bio
Michael Friedman

Member-at-Large  MAL Bios
Derek Silva
Mark Norman
Simon Barrick

Graduate Student Representative  Grad Student Rep Bios
Eva Rubin
Kasie Murphy
Jessica Brougham

For more information about the elections process, please click on the 2021 Elections Information tab on this page.

You can also read about these positions in the NASSS Constitution and Bylaws and in the Policy and Procedures Manual, which are posted on the NASSS website: NASSS.org/about/documents.


The Open Positions in the NASSS 2022 Election are

  1. President-Elect (3 year commitment). Year one as President-Elect (responsible for organizing NASSS conference)*; Year two as President (oversees the business of NASSS and delivers Presidential Address); Year three as Past-President (serves in a mentoring role to the Pres and Pres-Elect, chairs the Service Excellence Award Committee and is a member of the SSJ Early Career Researcher Award Committee). *Note: the newly elected P-E will be invited to serve on the current Conference Program Committee prior to entering the role as P-E in November.
  2. Secretary (2 year position). The Secretary shall keep, or cause to keep, the minutes of the meetings of the members and the Board of Directors in one or more books provided for that purpose; see that all notices are duly given in accordance with the provisions of these Bylaws or as required by law; be custodian of the Society’s records; attend to the correspondence of the Society, as directed by the President; order the plaques/certificates for awards to presented at the annual conference; and in general perform all duties incident to the office of Secretary, and such others as from time to time may be assigned by the President or by the Board of Directors.
  3. Treasurer (2 Year Position): The Treasurer shall have charge and custody of, and be responsible for, all funds and securities of the Society, receive and give receipts for monies due and payable to the Society from any sources whatsoever and deposit all such monies in the name of the Society in such banks, trust companies or other depositories as shall be selected in accordance with the provisions of these Bylaws. The Treasurer shall prepare an annual financial report of the Society at the close of each fiscal year and a proposed budget for the biennium. The Treasurer shall arrange for an annual audit. The Treasurer shall compile for official use and record an annual membership list of this Society and provide a copy of the membership list of this Society for each biennium.
  4. Member-at-Large (MAL) (1 position, Canadian) In this position, the MAL shall chair a different committee each of the two years of the term (the Barbara Brown Outstanding Student Paper Award, the Outstanding SSJ Article Award or the Outstanding Book Award), while also participating in Board meetings over email during the year and at Board meetings while at the annual conference in November.
  5. Graduate Student Representative (2 year position). Elected by graduate students. Represent the views of graduate students to the Board; inform graduate students about the Board’s activities. The grad student reps are traditionally involved in assisting other graduate students find shared accommodation for the conference, coordinating the signups for ‘take a student to lunch' and assisting with the book raffle. Additional initiatives, with the goal of addressing issues specific to graduate students and improving their conference experience, are encouraged (for example, organizing graduate student-focused conference sessions or social events).

To find out more about these positions, feel free to contact a current or past NASSS Board member: https://nasss.org/about/exec-board/.

You can also read about the positions in the NASSS Constitution and Bylaws and in the Policy and Procedures Manual, which are posted on the NASSS website: NASSS.org/about/documents.

If you are interested in standing for election, you can self-nominate by sending an email to any member of the Elections Committee. Please approach others you feel are a good fit for these positions as well; you may nominate other members after obtaining their permission.

Members interested in standing for election will send a brief bio which will be posted on the official ballot (we will send you a template with the standard format).

Please be sure you are a current NASSS member to vote in the upcoming elections and to run for office. You can join NASSS through the link on the NASSS website: https://nasss.org/join/

Thank you for your consideration in helping to keep our board strong and effective with capable and talented leaders!

If you have any questions about the nomination or election process, please do not hesitate to ask.



NASSS Elections Committee

Callie Maddox (Chair): maddoxce@miamioh.edu