Outstanding Book Award

Previous Recipients

2022, Jennifer McClearen (University of Texas-Austin), Fighting Visibility, Fighting Visibility: Sports Media and Female Athletes
2021, Courtney Szto (Queen’s University), Changing on the Fly: Hockey through the Voices of South Asian Canadians
2020, Hugo Ceron-Anaya (Lehigh University), Privilege at Play: Class, Race, Gender and Golf in Mexico
2019, Matthew Atencio, Becky Beal, E. Missy Wright, & ZáNean McClain (Cal State-East Bay), Moving Boarders: Skateboarding and the Changing Landscape of Urban Youth Sports 
2018, Nicole Willms (Gonzaga University), WHen Women Rule the Court: Gender, Race, and Japanese American Basketball
2017, Lindsay Parks Pieper,  Sex testing: Gender policing in women’s sports
2016 James Holstein, Richard Jones, and George Koonce  Is There Life After Football? Surviving the NFL
2015  Alan Klein(Northeastern University) Dominican Baseball: New Pride, Old Prejudice
2014 Jeffrey Montez de Oca (University of Colorado, Colorado Springs) Discipline and Indulgence: College Football, Media, and the American Way of Life During the Cold War
2013    Katie Fitzpatrick (University of Auckland) Critical Pedagogy, Physical Education and Urban Schooling
2012    Joshua Newman and Michael Giardina  (both Florida State University) Sport, Spectacle, and NASCAR Nation: Consumption and the Cultural Politics of Neoliberalism
2011    Emily Chivers Yochim (Allegheny College) Skate Life: Re-Imagining White Masculinity
2010    Shari L. Dworkin (UCSF) and Faye Linda Wachs (Cal Poly Pomona) - Body Panic: Gender, Health and the Selling of Fitness
2009    Thomas F. Carter (University of Brighton) - The Quality of Home Runs
2008    Earl Smith (Wake Forest University) - Race, Sport and the American Dream
2007    Pirkko Markula (University of Alberta) and Richard Pringle (University of Waikato) - Foucault, Sport and Exercise: Power Knowledge and Transforming the Self
2006    Michael D. Giardina (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) - Sporting Pedagogies: Performing Culture & Identity in the Global Arena
2005    Sherri Grasmuck (Temple University) - Protecting Home: Class, Race, and Masculinity in Boys' Baseball
2004    Michael Messner (University of Southern California) - Taking the Field- Women, Men and Sport
2003    Dan Nathan (Skidmore College) - Saying It's So: A Cultural History of the Black Sox Scandal
2002    Michael Robidoux (University of Ottawa) - Men at Play: A Working Understanding of Professional Hockey
2001    Nancy Theberge (University of Waterloo) - Higher Goals: Women's Ice Hockey and the Politics of Gender
2000    Varda Burstyn (Independent writer) - The Rites of Men: Manhood, Politics, and the Culture of Sport
1999    Eric Dunning (University of Leicester) - Sport Matters: Sociological Studies of Sport, Violence, and Civilization
1998    John Sugden (University of Brighton) - Boxing and Society: An International Analysis
1997    Alan Klein (Northeastern University) - Baseball on the Border
1996    Jennifer Hargreaves (University of Surrey Roehampton) - Sporting Females: Critical Issues in the History and Sociology of Women's Sports
1995    Todd Crosset (University of Massachusetts) - Outsiders in the Clubhouse: Class and Gender on the Women's Professional Golf Tour
1993    Michael Messner (University of Southern California) - Power at Play: Sport and the Problems of Masculinity



This award is presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding book published in the previous calendar year. In order to be eligible for this award, nominations must be made by a NASSS member and meet the following criteria:

● Scholarly analyses of a sport-related issue or phenomenon, written from a sociological, anthropological, or related perspective. (Edited collections and textbooks are NOT eligible for the award.)
● Have a printed publication date of the calendar year preceding the year of the award. (For example, for the 2022 award, eligible books are those with a publication date of 2021.)
● Written by NASSS or non-NASSS members


Nomination Process

The 2022 Nominations Process is closed.


This award is presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding book published in the previous calendar year. The award will be presented each year at the annual conference.

The eligibility criteria are as follows:

  1. Books must be scholarly analyses of a sport related issue or phenomenon written from a sociological, anthropological, or related perspective.
  2. Books must have been published in the calendar year preceding the year of the award. So, in 2019, eligible books are those published in 2018.
  3. Books must not be edited collections or texts, but rather scholarly analyses of a sport related issue/phenomenon written from a sociological/anthropological (or related) perspective.
  4. Previously nominated books may be re-nominated if published in 2018.
  5. Books from authors who are not NASSS members are eligible.
  6. Nominations for the award must be made by a NASSS member.