Early Career Researcher Award

Sponsored by Human Kinetics


2020: Kyle Bunds, North Carolina State University
2019: Rachel Allison, University of Mississippi
2018: Joseph C. Cooper, University of Connecticut
2017: Lyndsay Hayhurst, York University, Canada
2016:Brad Millington, University of Bath, UK
2015:  Holly Thorpe, University of Waikato, New Zealand

Sponsored by Human Kinetics, we are pleased to announce the formal call for the 2020 SSJ Early Career Researcher Award, to be awarded to an early career NASSS member “in recognition of significant scholarly contributions to the sociology of sport field.” The winner of the award will receive U.S. $1,000 and be recognized at the 2020 NASSS virtual award ceremony.

The award is open to all members of NASSS who have received a PhD within the previous seven (7) years of the Award year.

Nomination packets were  be submitted to the Chair of the SSJ Early Career Researcher Award committee, Michael Giardina, by May 15, 2020.

An individual shall be considered for the Award if he or she is a NASSS member and the Chair receives the following documents by the May 15, 2020 deadline:

  1. A letter of nomination from a NASSS member outlining the nominee’s accomplishments to date, as well as anticipated future contributions to the field;
  2. A copy of the nominee’s most recent curriculum vitae; and
  3. Two representative scholarly publications by the nominee.

The criteria for evaluation shall include publication record and other scholarly contributions to the sociology of sport (e.g. scholarly journal articles, books, monographs, research reports, and so forth that demonstrates an impact on the sociology of sport knowledge base; scholarly presentations, invited plenaries, and/or keynote addresses; public engagement/public sociology; and other awards the nominee may have received, including but not limited to other NASSS awards).

** Please note: self-nominations shall not be accepted, and that a member of NASSS may only nominate one individual for this Award per year.

Questions concerning the Award should be directed to the committee chair via email at mgiardina@fsu.edu