Gary Sailes Graduate Diversity Scholarship

The application process and criteria for the scholarship are as follows:

  1. Applicants MUST BE enrolled as a Masters or Doctoral level student, and a current and financial NASSS member at the time of application submission.
  2. Applicants must prepare the following:
    • one-page essay, which addresses your current research and how you plan to contribute to the field of sport sociology/physical activity. (Please use 12 pt., Times New Roman Font Only)
    • A letter of recommendation from a faculty member who is familiar with the student’s work and aspirations.
    • Applicant Contact Sheet with the following information: Name, Address, Phone & Email Address, Student Classification (Masters or Doctoral), College/University Affiliation, Name of Faculty Recommender. Download the Applicant Contact sheet here
  1. All required documents MUST BE sent via email as one complete PDF document in the following order 1) Applicant Contact Sheet, 2) Faculty member letter of recommendation, and 3) One-page essay.

Application Deadline: Saturday, August 21st, 2021

  • The NASSS Diversity and Conference Climate Committee will review all applications and select the winners.
  • The winners and runners-ups will have an opportunity to present their research during a special Gary Sails Diversity Award Session at the 2021 NASSS Conference in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Other applicants will showcase their research at a poster presentation.
  • The winners will also be recognized at the Annual NASSS Conference Business Meeting during the 2021 Conference.
  • Submit materials or questions to:

F. Michelle Richardson, Ph.D.
Chair, NASSS Diversity and Conference Climate Committee

Gary “Doc” Sailes is an award winning professor at Indiana University. He is widely recognized for his research and advocacy on collegiate sport access and Critical Race Theory. A champion of student-athlete development, Dr. Sailes has led Congressional hearings, and presented to the International Olympic Congress on abuses in college athletics and the value of diversity across sport. A recipient of the 2011 NASSS Distinguished Service Award, “Doc” continues his support of the NASSS community by bestowing resources that annually fund the Graduate Diversity Scholarship.

In acknowledgment of the recommendation made by the Racial Diversity Committee in the fall of 2003, the NASSS Conference Program Committee has implemented a scholarship for a graduate student who is a member of a racial or ethnic “minority” group. The purpose of the scholarship is to create a mechanism to identify racial and/or ethnic “minority” graduate students who are researching in the area of sport sociology and provide a means of supporting their work and association with NASSS. The award of $500 is applied toward expenses associated with attendance at the NASSS 2020 Conference in New Orleans, Louisiana, November 4 – 7, 2020.

Previous Recipients
To download a PDF of all previous NASSS award winners, including all winners of this award, please click here:

2019Master’s Award:  Arturo Jaime Morales Jr.  (University of Tennessee, Knoxville); Doctoral Award: Ajhanai Channel Inez Newton (University of Connecticut)
2018Master’s Award:  Tori Thompson (University of Maryland); Doctoral Award: Nida Ahmad, (University of Waikato)
2017Master’s Award: Dervon Francis (Western Illinois University); Doctoral Award: Alexander Deeb, (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
2016Master’s Award: Urooj Shahzadi(University of Toronto); Doctoral Award: Traci Canada(University of Virginia)
2015Master’s Award: Alexander Deeb (Western Illinois University); Doctoral Award: Bahar Tajrobehkar (University of Toronto)
2014Master’s Award: Caroline Piquette (Laurentian University); Doctoral Award: Ember Skye W. Kanelee (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
2013Master's Award: Bahar Tajrobehkar (York University); Doctoral Award: Satoko Itani (University of Toronto)
2012Chelsea Johnson (University of Southern California)
2011Albert Y. Bimper, Jr. (University of Texas)
2010Nikolas Dickerson (University of Iowa)
2009Jasmine Hamilton (Louisiana State University)
2008Kyoung-Yim Kim (University of Toronto)
2007Rachel Sarabia (University of California, Santa Barbara)
2006Nicola Potopsighn (Queen's University)
2005Bryan Bracey (University of Maryland)